IEŚW, ul. Niecała 5, 20-080 Lublin, tel. +48 81 532 2907,
okladka ksiazki
  • Tomasz Stępniewski
  • Polityka czarnomorska Federacji Rosyjskiej
  • ISBN: 978-83-60695-59-3 Lublin
  • 2011 str.
  • format 0
  • (Kod: 177)


The Black Sea Policy of the Russian Federation

In the 1990s the Russian Federation divided the states of the Black Sea region into: members of the Commonwealth of Independent States, former satellite states (Bulgaria and Romania) and Turkey. In the following years, due to geopolitical changes the situation in the area underwent further changes. Taking into account these new circumstances, from the perspective of the Russian Federation, one may indicate three groups of states within the Black Sea region. The first group consists of the Russian Federation and quasi-states, connected with it: Abkhazia, South Ossetia and to a smaller extent Transnistria. The second group is made of former Soviet republics: Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia, which clearly distance themselves from any form of close cooperation and/or integration with the Russian Federation (Georgia closed the process of stepping out of the CIS in 2009). The third group includes members of the European Union and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation: Bulgaria, Greece and Romania, and NATO member and EU candidate, Turkey. The aim of the following study is to analyse the foreign policy of the Russian Federation, realised after the Cold War and concerning the Black Sea region. The policy of the Russian Federation towards the Black Sea region is the outcome of Russian international policy (at the regional level) towards the post-Soviet area (the CIS), Balkans and the Middle East. Therefore, the Black Sea region is not perceived by Russia as a uniform geopolitical entity.